Saturday, June 16, 2007

The YEC Final Four Cities - A Follow Up

The controversy over the WTA's Final Four Cities for the 2008 YEC has started a decent conversation in some quarters. One of the best suggestions I've seen was made by a fan HERE. The fan presents a list of cities that would give geographic and cultural diversity and that don't host a womens major at the present time.

2008 - South America (Buenos Aires, Caracas, Bogota, Sao Paulo, etc.)
2009 - Africa (Cairo, Casablanca, Cape Town, Nairobi)
2010 - Western Europe (Lisbon, Amsterdam, Munich, Vienna, Lyon)
2011 - North America (Vancouver , Boston, Chicago, Mexico City)
2012 - Oceania (Perth, Adelaide, Wellington)
2013 - Middle East (Dubai, Doha, Tel-Aviv, Ar Ryadh, Manama)
2014 - Eastern Europe (Prague, Warsaw, Budapest, Bucharest, Belgrade)
2015 - Asia (Beijing, Seoul, Kuala Lumpur, Bandar Seri Begawan, Delhi)

Other fans have also suggested Dublin, Ireland, and the original home of the YEC, New York City. Madrid is still a favorite. Oslo, Norway has been mentioned. So has Philadelphia in the United States although fans are rightly pointing out that the United States has a glut of tournaments. I've often wondered why no majors are held in Chicago though. The idea of Vancouver is also intriguing.

The fans also seem to want the sixteen player format back as well but this would conflict with the announced changes the WTA is pursuing for it's Roadmap.

As news unfolds I'll post it.

No comments: